Home > etcetera > Loewe Opta

Loewe Opta


Way, way back in the day, as far back as I can remember, Grandpa had one of these in his house. Needless to say, dad had the same one. This was the stereo to have back in the 60s and 70s folks…and what a stereo it was! It had some kind of plasma display section. I will try to describe it. Think of it as a black bar about 3cm in width and 0.5 cm in height. It had this green plasma-like effect. When you tuned in to a station, there would be green bars from each end of the black bar, slowly filling up, making a gap. The smaller the gap, the better the reception. So you tuned to your favourite radio station, signal based on the gap that remained.

The phonograph section had this long spindle that kind of let you stack records on it. This was like what a stacker was so that you could have several records all cued up…truly ahead of its time! And the sound? Well, all I can say is was for something of that time, it was absolutely superb. I spent many a night listening to the thing.

In 1978, Dad got rid of it, replacing it with a shiny, new Sony hi-fi system. But there are times when I still miss that Loewe Opta. I dunno. It just reminds me of childhood, and in a rather ironic way, it helped me to get my first foothold into music.

Categories: etcetera Tags: , ,
  1. scottprins
    06/03/2012 at 07:04

    I have a similar system…the wood box is different but sounds and looks like the same faceplate/radio…very impressive indeed! Mine needs work, and yours is the closest I’ve found anywhere…having a hard time finding any info on it at all…

  2. Giovanni
    22/01/2013 at 02:26

    I have one, only radio, but it need a restore, can you please let me have some pictures of the inside and a circuit copy if you have one?

    • 22/01/2013 at 09:51

      Gosh man…wish I could help you but my dad got rid of that in 1978!!

    • scott
      20/02/2013 at 17:31

      pictures I can do, circuit copy is a no go…would love one myself as only one side works…
      how would I go about sending a pic to you?

  3. jose
    27/04/2013 at 04:24

    My friend gave the same stereo to me. It belonged to his dad. He bought it when he was stationed in Germany back in the 60’s. My friend was gonna get rid of it and probably end up in the dump cause it had too many memories of his dad which sadly died a year after he gave it to me. I’m 33 and always loved 50’s and 60’s music and nostalgia stuff so when this came to me I was so happy. I almost had a heart attack when he told me what he wanted to do with it. I asked him if it worked he said Yes so I said I WILL TAKE IT OFF YOUR HANDS AND GIVE IT A NEW HOME. I have a huge collection of lp’s & 45’s and boy do they sound amazing in this old record player. The only thing I’ve replaced so far was the needle which wasn’t hard to find with a little research. I play my 45’s and lp’s on a daily bases. It’s like a little time machine just listening to the way music sounded back then with this amazing record player I LOVE IT!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

