Home > etcetera > Dell Inspiron 15 N5050

Dell Inspiron 15 N5050


I bought this laptop for my wife because she needed a new one. Cost me only about $600, a VERY good price indeed. I have been using Dell laptops for quite a few years with no issues. My Vostro 1400 is doing fine but it is almost 5 years old. Its hard drive has been upgraded to a 320Gb one and is running Windows XP. I am looking at getting one of these Ispiron 15 laptops for myself in case mine breaks down but it does not look like it will conk out anytime soon. Specifications-wise:

Display
Diagonal Size : 15.6″
Resolution : 1366 x 768 (HD)
WLED True-Life

Graphics Card
Intel® HD Graphics 3000

Processor
Type : Intel® Pentium® B950 processor
Speed : 2.10 GHz
Cache : 2M

Type : Intel® Core™ i3-2330M processor
Speed : 2.20 GHz

Type : Intel® Core™ i5-2430M processor
Speed : 2.40 GHz with Turbo Boost up to 3.00 GHz

Chipset
Intel® HM67 Express Chipset

Memory
Options :
2 GB 1 DIMM DDR3 1333Mhz
4 GB 1 DIMM DDR3 1333Mhz

Storage
Up to 500GB 5400 RPM hard drive

Optical Drive
Tray-load DVD+/-RW

Communication
WLAN & Bluetooth : Standard Combo Dell Wireless Card 802.11b/g/n, Bluetooth 3.0+HS

Audio
Dell Audio – 2 speakers (2 Watt each)
Built-in analogue microphone

Interface
1 x Ethernet / RJ45
1 x HDMI
1 x VGA Port
3 x USB 2.0
1 x Headphone jack
1 x Microphone jack

Slots
Card Reader : 3-in-1 memory card reader

Camera
0.3MP

Power
Battery : 6-cell 2.2 AHr Li-Ion

Security
Kensington lock slot

Dimensions and Weight
Width : 376.0 mm (14.8 inch)
Depth : 260.0 mm (10.24 inch)
Height : 31.52 mm – 34.53 mm (1.24 inch – 1.36 inch)
Weight : starting at 2.37 kg (5.2 lbs) with 6-cell battery

Operating System
Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium SP1 64 bit

So as you can see, you get quite a lot for $600. The only beef I have with Dell is that they do not ship the Operating System DVD with the notebook. You need to order it separately. That is the major bugbear of this system because should you need to re-install this laptop, you will be stuck with no Operating System CD. When I first ordered this laptop for my wife, I found out that the laptop was loaded with all types of software that really slowed it down. So I ordered the operating system DVD for $5 extra and reloaded the system. It is considerably a LOT faster now but I had to jump through hoops to get the camera software as it is not included in the supplied driver DVD. And that is another strange thing. Why does Dell supply the driver DVD but not the operating system DVD?

But other than that, I am happy with the purchase that I made for my wife and she is happy too.

 

Categories: etcetera Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

