Home > etcetera > Rest in peace Andy Williams

Rest in peace Andy Williams


Years ago when I used to stay with my grandparents for the weekend, my aunt would be there and she used to have this small tape recorder and one of her favourite cassette tapes to play, besides Diana Ross, was Andy Williams. Was he a crooner! I still remember listening to his hit Speak Softly Love (the theme from The Godfather) playing on that cassette. To me, Andy Williams was up there with the best. So it came as a bit of a surprise to me when I heard that he passed away after a bout of bladder cancer. He was 84 years old. According to this article here:

“The old cliche says that if you can remember the 1960s, you weren’t there,” the singer once recalled. “Well, I was there all right, but my memory of them is blurred – not by any drugs I took but by the relentless pace of the schedule I set myself.”

Besides his usual classics, and he sang lots of songs from the movies. Besides the afore-mentioned Speak Softly Love, he also sang Moon River, a song also sung my Nancy Wilson. He also sang the theme song from Love Story. But my favourite? This song below. Rest in peace Mr Williams. I grew up with your music and I will miss you.
Categories: etcetera Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. 13/10/2012 at 12:49

Leave a Reply

