Home > etcetera > Shure SLX4 and SM58 wireless microphone system

Shure SLX4 and SM58 wireless microphone system


I used this microphone the other day at an event on New Year’s Eve. I was quite amazed at the sound of it and as you know, when you pay for Shure quality, you get awesome quality. I should know because I have always trusted Shure microphones, especially their legendary SM58 microphones. I liked this but the only bugbear about it was the fact that the transmitter in the wireless microphone used two AA batteries and they did not last very long. If I do get something like this, I may have to go the rechargeable route or spend a fortune on batteries. I had batteries running out on me twice in the night and it sure as hell was not funny. My AKG WMS 40 Mini can go for hours on a single alkaline AA battery, and it is cheaper too! In any case, here are the specs of this wireless microphone and receiver:

Transmitter:

  • Frequency response tailored for vocals, with brightened midrange and bass Uniform cardioid pickup pattern isolates the main sound source and minimizes background noise
  • Pneumatic shock-mount system cuts down handling noise
  • Effective, built-in spherical wind and pop filter
  • Supplied with break-resistant stand adapter which rotates 180 degrees
  • Legendary Shure quality, ruggedness and reliability
  • Cardioid (unidirectional) dynamic
  • Frequency response: 50 to 15,000 Hz
  • Automatic Transmitter Setup
  • Backlit LCD with timeout feature

As for the receiver:

  • Automatic Frequency Selection
  • Automatic Transmitter Setup
  • 960 Selectable frequencies across 24 MHz bandwidth
  • Detachable 1/4 wave antennas
  • Microprocessor-controlled diversity
  • RF presence LED
  • 5-segment audio meter
  • Multi-function, backlit LCD
  • Low battery indicator
  • Frequency and power lockout
  • Rugged metal chassis
  • Volume control on rear of unit
  • 1/2 rack design
  • Furnished rack hardware
  • Non-slip bumpers for use out of rack
  • XLR and 1/4″ outputs

I will say one thing and that is the receiver gives me the option of using either an unbalanced 1/4″ phone jack or a balanced XLR output. My AKG only has a balanced 1/4″ TRS phone jack as the output but it works out very well and I have no complaints at all. Oh well. Maybe in the future, when my AKGs die out on me, I may make the move for this.

Categories: etcetera Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

