Home > etcetera > Dropbox

Dropbox


I have used Dropbox for a number of years now and I have encouraged many of my friends and relatives to get it. It is intuitive, simple to use and just works. By recommending friends, you get 500Mb of space, free. I have amassed almost 4.5Gb of space on my Dropbox, which initially started with just 2Gb when I signed up. I use it to share my stuff among my three computers and with friends. If you all are wondering what Dropbox is, here is a summary:

Dropbox is a free service that lets you bring your photos, docs, and videos anywhere and share them easily. Dropbox was founded in 2007 by Drew Houston and Arash Ferdowsi, two MIT students tired of emailing files to themselves to work from more than one computer. Today, more than 100 million people across every continent use Dropbox to always have their stuff at hand, share with family and friends, and work on team projects.

There are now other options for Dropbox and one of them is “Dropbox for Teams”. I found this article on The Register and I found it pretty interesting:

The Teams product is designed to let groups within a company share documents and data over the Dropbox servers. It costs $795 per year for five users, and an extra $125 for every new team member. Some basic administrative tools come with the service, but now Dropbox has started revamping these to give IT administrators access to more information. On Tuesday (12th February 2013), the company added a new UI to the IT admin interface with added functions such as giving information on an individual’s usage, the IP address from which they are logging in, the use of third-party applications within the Dropbox system, adding the ability to block accounts (if a laptop is stolen, for example), and including tools to enforce the use of two-factor authentication.

I remember that I had a helluva time trying to control Dropbox at work when I was the administrator of my company back then. Who needs thumbdrives with Dropbox? But it is good that they are introducing that. In any case, there are alternatives like Google Drive and Microsoft’s Skydrive but I think people are too attached to Dropbox and its simplicity

Categories: etcetera Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

