Home > etcetera > Google Nexus 4 mobile phone

Google Nexus 4 mobile phone


I am possibly going to get this Google Nexus 4 mobile phone when my current Motorola Defy croaks. Do not get me wrong, my Motorola Defy is still chugging along happily and I see no reason to replace it…until it dies anyway. Now that Motorola Mobility is owned by Google, I guess I am buying into the Google line of mobile phones. Features-wise:

  • Android 4.2 (Jelly Bean)
  • Accelerometer
  • GPS
  • Gyroscope
  • Barometer
  • Microphone
  • Ambient light
  • Compass

Pretty good isn’t it? Now lets take a look at what it uses for connectivity:

  • WiFi 802.11 a/b/g/n
  • Bluetooth
  • NFC (Android Beam)
  • Unlocked GSM/UMTS/HSPA+
  • GSM/EDGE/GPRS (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
  • 3G (850, 900, 1700, 1900, 2100 MHz)
  • HSPA+ 42
  • Wireless charging
  • SlimPort (TM)

Not too sure what the wireless charging is all about but it could be that thing where you place your mobile phone on top of this plate-like thingy and it will charge the battery. I am just making an assumption of course, based on what I saw in a video online once.

All that being said and done, it is pretty tough too. This is a description of what its display offers:

  • 4.7″ diagonal
  • 1280 x 768 pixel resolution (320 ppi)
  • WXGA IPS
  • Corning® Gorilla® Glass 2

Nice and roomy but the problem is, it is not for sale in Singapore…yet. There are some shops that parallel import it but if it ever goes tits-up, you are in a shitty situation. No…I am in no hurry and I can wait. My mobile-hone revolves around me and not the other way round, like it does for some people I know.

Categories: etcetera Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

