Home > etcetera > Old cement mixer

Old cement mixer


Just the other day, I was trying to recall memories of my childhood. I have always been fascinated by mechanical devices…always! I remember being pushed around in my pram by my mother when I was a toddler. I remember she was pushing me towards a building that was just being built at that time, a building that has long since been demolished. It must have been the early 70’s at least. I remember fixing my eyes on this cement mixer…the ones running with a petrol engine. You cannot find mixers like these anymore. Most cement mixers of this variety are now powered by electric motors and they look pretty flimsy. I remember these ones always came with steel wheel. I never saw rubber tires on any of them. But I was always fascinated by engines and the like and this one was no exception. This picture comes courtesy of The Stationary Engine page of Pete Aldous. Lots more pics in that site, if you are so inclined!

Categories: etcetera Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. 23/05/2013 at 14:02

Leave a Reply

