Home > etcetera > C-Mark GA500 digital amplifier

C-Mark GA500 digital amplifier


About a month back, while doing an event, I checked out what the hotel was using as an in-house sound-system. I could not see what speakers they were using but I did manage to get a glimpse of the amplifiers that they were using to power the speakers. This is the one…from a brand called C-Mark. I have seen their speakers in use before in a karaoke bar but this is the first time I had seen this amplifier and I must say that I was pretty impressed.

First of all, its a Class D amplifier so it was pretty small. According to their website, this GA500 model puts out 300 watts per channel into 8 ohms and 600 watts per channel into 4 ohms. That, by itself, is pretty impressive. Notice that I am talking about just one of these amplifier modules. But this is the shocker. It looks like there is only one Speakon connector at the back…an NL4 one at that. Probably that is what it does…using pins 1+ and 1- for the left and 2+ and 2- for the right, or vice-versa. There is a built-in power supply by the looks of it and each module weighs a hefty 3 kilograms.

These amplifiers look interesting. I would love to get one for an install I am doing…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

