Home > etcetera > Roxy Music Avalon

Roxy Music Avalon


It was way back in 1982, when I was in a book store in Serangoon Gardens estate, looking at the pirated cassette tapes that they had in the store. Back then, pirated tapes were rife. I remember seeing this tape and looking at the contents, it had the title track of this album…i.e. the song Avalon. I really loved it then but I do not know why I did not buy the tape. I guess that I thought that it was pointless to buy a tape with only one good song that I fancied on it.

Fast-forward eleven years later. I was in Johore Bahru and was involved in a business of sorts with some friends and we had a rented house there with a beat-up old stereo system. I remember one fine afternoon, probably a Saturday, when my friends and I were lazing in the house, smoking cigarettes and drinking coffee. One of my friends put this tape in the player. It was the full album of Avalon. When I heard the opening track More Than This, I was floored. I had heard it before. It sounded so fresh even though the song was more than a decade old. Something just arrested me right there and then. Some time later, while searching through a couple of second-hand record stores overseas, I came upon this album in LP format. I bought two of them because I did not want to risk wearing out one. Bloody lovely album and if I may add, the picture of the album is just breathtaking.

A couple of days back, a chapter in my life closed. The song Avalon has even more meaning now but while I was listening to the lyrics of More than This, it just seemed so apt:

It was fun for a while
There was no way of knowing
Like a dream in the night
Who can say where we’re going
No care in the world
Maybe I’m learning
Why the sea on the tide
Has no way of turning

Life has its strange ways of associating certain of its chapters with songs and events. Get this album. You will not regret it.

Categories: etcetera Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

