Home > etcetera > The Roland Cube Street

The Roland Cube Street


While I was walking around one of the MRT stations in the east part of Singapore, I came across a couple of buskers using this amplifier. I must say that I was quite pleased with the sound. Now, I am no stranger to Roland’s products. I have installed their products in quite a few clubs and bars and their quality is unquestionable. Here are some reasons why I like this little amplifier.

  • Compact, lightweight stereo amplifier with slanted cabinet design
  • Two high-performance 6.5” speakers
  • Battery driven (6 x AA, maximum 15-hour continuous use)
  • Dual-channel architecture with Guitar/Inst and Mic/Line inputs
  • 8 COSM AMPs, 6 digital effects, and chromatic tuner built in
  • 2-band EQ, Delay/Reverb for the Mic/Line-channel
  • AC Adaptor included

I took all these points from the Roland website, the very same one that I was at when I discovered the attributes of this fantastic little amplifier. First of all, its battery powered. 6 AA batteries provide the power to power this baby. Also, its a It’s a guitar amp and mini PA system in one. With its dual-channel architecture and Microphone input, one can sing and play guitar through one convenient amplifier. There’s even a delay and reverb devoted to the Mic/Line channel. Great for karaoke parties!

These are the built-in controls of the mixer section. You can see some XLR combo jacks which means that you can use this as a very handy portable PA system. And not only that, there is even a mounting for a speaker stand. That makes it very convenient if you want a small system to power say, a road-show. Just plug in a mic and a small MP3 player and you are on the go. It only weighs about 6 kilograms so its pretty light. Wattage is rather low though. On the website, its stated about 2.5 watts per speaker but honestly, when I heard those buskers, it really sounded loud!

I am looking at getting one of these for myself as a monitor for a DJ console. I am pretty sure that these would be very handy in situations like these.

Categories: etcetera Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

