Home > etcetera > The Sound Blaster Roar

The Sound Blaster Roar


As a Singaporean, I feel very proud of Sound Blaster and its founder Mr Sim Wing Hoo. He has put Singapore on the map in more ways than one. Through the years, I have used his MP3 players, his computer soundcards and even his speakers. And speaking of speakers, I was at a friend’s house on Christmas Day and this is what was unveiled at his place, this awesome Sound Blaster Roar

To be honest, I have seen this device on sale at the computer fairs that are held every three months here in Singapore. But after hearing ut yesterday, I was floored. This bloody thing can REALLY kick ass. And when I say kick ass, I mean it!. According to Creative:

Never before has such powerful and well-balanced audio come from a small compact booklet-sized speaker. With the Sound Blaster Roar, we’ve achieved the impossible by taking an impressive bi-amplified 5-driver system (including a kickass subwoofer) and shrinking it into a size no larger than a dictionary. The result: a speaker that is smaller, lighter, more stable and more powerful than any other speaker of its class. You’ll have to hear it to believe it.

I hooked up my shitty Samsung Galaxy Ace 3 (why its shitty I will explain in another post) to this unit via Bluetooth. At first, I had some issues pairing with it because it could not be “seen” by my phone. It is only when my friend pushed a button on this device, allowing it to be seen and paired, I was able to get in and pair my phone. And after that, it was music all the way!

This device has 5 drivers powered by 2 amplifiers. It has a built-in subwoofer as well. No wonder this thing felt pretty heavy. Had I known there were 5 speakers…but I digress. This unit is further enhanced with proprietary ROAR, TeraBass & MegaStereo technologies. Trust me. I have seen some amazing things from Creative and they have a great R&D department. So if they say so, it probably is so. This unit hasm according to creative, AAC & aptX for high-quality audio, NFC, MP3 player, voice recorder, speakerphone, 6000 mAh Li-ion battery, battery bank, Bedtime listening mode, USB Sound Blaster, siren, and Link Security to configure Bluetooth for different usage scenarios. Egads.

If you go online, you can get it for a magical price of $199. Yep…that is $199 Singapore dollars. Pretty good for what I think is a killer system for a killer price. I might get one myself!

Categories: etcetera Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

