Home > etcetera > Samson SZ480 four-channel power amplifier

Samson SZ480 four-channel power amplifier


I was at a client’s place a few days back and I happened to notice for of these in their rack. Interesting, I thought. What manner of amplifier is this that I have only just heard about only today? I mean, I know about Samson’s other offerings but this is the first tome I came across this four-channel variety. This amplifier is a 2U, four-channel industrial power amplifier for distributed power applications. It is capable of delivering 120 watts RMS output per channel at 4 ohms or 80 watts per channel at 8 ohms, but can also run at 70 or 100 volts. Not too bad actually. Its a Class D amplifier too so looks like it will be pretty light but wait…this baby has a toroidal transformer so maybe it may be a slight bit heavier than most other Class D amps. This amp has been discontinued. A shame really. I know of some applications and installs where this amplifier would have come in useful

Categories: etcetera Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

