Home > etcetera > MetroCount Vehicle Classifier System

MetroCount Vehicle Classifier System


Some time back, I wrote about the change in URA parking charges near my place. Now that I think of it, I think I know how they did it or rather, justify that traffic had been heavy, according to them.

A few weeks before the change happened, I saw quite a few of these devices around the carpark exits and entrances. They were connected to sensors that were like black cables. I suppose when cars went over them, the weight of the vehicle helped to classify them…for instance, a truck is very much heavier than a car. In any case, when I saw these, they looked out-of-place in that old car park so I snapped this picture with my mobile phone. A few weeks later, that is when I saw the change in the parking charges.

These things were there for a reason so I can surmise that this is what they used to do a survey of sorts. Interesting equipment. You can read up about these devices here

Categories: etcetera Tags: , ,
  1. 15/06/2015 at 19:03

    Hi there,

    Just noticed your post and thought I would add a little.

    The black strips are rubber tube and they detect an air pulse every time an axle travels over. The axle configurations are used to determine the types of vehicles and the speeds along with other information in the MetroCount software.

    Cheers

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

