Home > etcetera > Transferring music from vinyl to MP3s and WAVs

Transferring music from vinyl to MP3s and WAVs


I love my music but unfortunately, many of the songs I love are only available on vinyl instead of MP3s and EAVs. So that is what I did the last week. I hooked up my trusty Behringer  UCA222, connected the USB to my computer and hooked up the mixer that my turntables are connected to the UCA222 device. After that, I fired up Audacity (you can use any free software recorder but Audacity is free) and recorded the vinyl in real-time. With the exception of a lot of crackle and pop (ok…some of my vinyl needs a good cleaning) I managed to copy quite a few songs across. This is a picture of me transferring the 12″ of Wang Chung’s Everybody Have Fun Tonight to WAV. Yep. That is my trusty Technics SL-1200 turntable and my Stanton 500AL cartridge and stylus

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

