Home > etcetera > Christian bakers fined US$135,000 for refusing to bake wedding cake

Christian bakers fined US$135,000 for refusing to bake wedding cake


You can see it in the clip above and in the article here. This is what REALLY gets to me. Aaron and Melissa Klein operate Sweet Cakes by Melissa and they were fined for not agreeing to bake a cake for a lesbian marriage. The cake shop owners do not discriminate against gays, lesbians. They believe that there is a difference between serving homosexuals in general and having to personally facilitate same-sex ceremonies, which is an act of participation.

That I can agree with. I personally have many gay friends but as a Catholic, and I have said it before: the sacrament of marriage has not changed. Pope Francis said the same thing here in a previous post.

Is it right to bankrupt a family and their business like this? These bakers have the right to refuse. They are being held hostage by a law which seems to me ridiculous. According to them:

I have customers come in almost on a weekly basis that are homosexual. They can buy my stuff. I sell stuff. I talk with them. That’s fine. … This was not the first time we’ve served these girls. (But) We were being asked to participate in something that we could not participate in

I am disgusted by this. I really am. I am putting this up for the world to see.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

