Home > etcetera > And just how many air conditioners do you need?

And just how many air conditioners do you need?


I snapped this picture using my old Nokia E51 mobile phone in June 2009. I came across it while browsing some old photos that I had. I came across this while walking down a ramp behind Ann Siang Road, leading to Amoy Street. I was amused but at the same time, thoughtful about the electricity use of these aircon compressors. So many of them bracing the rear of a shophouse in that area. I wondered to myself…are we that dependent on air conditioners? I know we live in a tropical island, and it does get hot, temperature-wise. But do we really need all these air conditioners? I do not know…honestly. maybe it would be better to use fans instead or maybe one multi-split system?

  1. 25/10/2015 at 16:47

    i agree with you about airconditioners. but i did not reckon on the haze being so bad. now those with air conditioners would be v glad they got it. it looks like those who spend lots of electricity are rewarded for their spendthrift ways. its a pity, but those who are frugal are now being penalised to suffer the haze. but that is life isn’t it?

  1. 12/12/2015 at 08:44

Leave a Reply

