Home > etcetera > Dodgy switched-mode power supplies

Dodgy switched-mode power supplies


I had to visit a client about two weeks ago because he had a problem with his TV. Apparently, the power supply that was supplying power to his HDMI extender was faulty. When I checked, I found that the LEDs on the extender were lit but there was a problem with the extender working. After I switched power supplies, all was OK. This was due to the spoilt power supply, pictured above. This is not a new case. I have always had to deal with dodgy power supplies like these. They have a pretty short lifespan and in my case, I had to carry a huge 55″ screen from its wall mounting in order to get access to this power supply and remove it. I just wish that the power supplies were built like the old days. At least those power supplies are more reliable!

Categories: etcetera Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

