Home > etcetera > Power adapter causing laptop to utilise 100% of CPU

Power adapter causing laptop to utilise 100% of CPU


 

I had a bit of a problem with my notebook the other day…and I could not explain why. It happened last week. I detached my laptop’s battery because I had fully charged it the night before. I then connected the power adapter on my desk to my laptop. When I turned on my laptop, it started to really lag. Thinking that I might have malware, I downloaded and installed the excellent MalwareBytes malware detector. The strange thing was that I detected no malware at all.

The next thing I did was to start up a free tool named Process Explorer. It too did not detect anything amiss. So here I was at wit’s end, wondering what in the world was causing this issue. I did not think much of it because I had to go off to a client’s place for a meeting and that was that. I packed up my laptop and left

Now while at my client’s place later that afternoon. I was thinking to myself if may laptop was screwed. But surprisingly, at my client’s place, when I started my laptop (I was using the fully-charged battery) all was fine! Laptop was as zippy as ever! So I was thinking it was an anomaly (I have learnt that Microsoft Windows has its quirks) and thought nothing more of it.

The next day, when I arrived at the office, I started up my laptop and noticed that I had only about 50% of my battery left. So I used it till it was about 10% in remaining charge before I plugged in my charger. Blow me down. Laptop started lagging…again! So I started thinking to myself and working it out logically what was causing the issue. When I started Task manager, it showed all four cores of my CPU at 100%. Then I started thinking…could it be the power adapter? So I unplugged the power adapter and would you believe ut? The CPU load went down! Bloody hell! So I unplugged my adapter, got in touch with my IT manager and asked him if he had one. he gave me another one and when I plugged in that one, I had no issues.

Was it really my adapter that caused that issue? Now, my instinct and logic tells me no. I mean, how could it? Maybe it is an older adapter with different voltage? All I know is my laptop was a HP and when I did a search on the Internet, lots of cases that echoed mine were HP laptops! Go figure!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

