Home > etcetera > Unbalanced connections to a balanced input

Unbalanced connections to a balanced input


There is one thing I really, really hate and that is people who try to do shortcuts. Take this connection for example. A client calls me, saying that there is a terrible buzzing sound from the system in the meeting room. So I disable the floorpoint, you know the one, the one with the VGA connector and 1/8″ stereo minijack.

In any case, I look at the cable and trace it to the ClearOne processor in the audio rack. This is what greets my eye. Look at the bottom part of the connector with the orange jumper cable. That is am unbalanced connection being connected to a balanced input. No wonder there was a hum. The unbalanced line was running at more than 20 metre to the audio rack, and was running next to a power line. I told the client I could not fix it today but I would order the necessary parts and do so

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

