Home > etcetera > Cat6 Shielded Twisted Pair cable

Cat6 Shielded Twisted Pair cable


While I was at a client’s place yesterday, I saw some spare Cat6 STP (Shielded Twisted Pair) cable and I decided to myself…what the hell…let me make myself a totally shielded cable for the uplink from my cable modem to my router. Using the excellent Kramer RJ45s, I crimped a short cable and replaced the old uplink cable. Truth be told, I cannot tell if there is a difference or not but every little bit helps. I think that is what I am going to do from now on. Mission-critical stuff gets Cat6 STP, especially if they have to co-exist with a lot of cables carrying electricity. RFI (Radio Frequency Interference) is not to be sneezed at

Leave a Reply

