Home > etcetera > Asahi rosin solder

Asahi rosin solder


For as long as I can remember, I have been using this solder to solder with. But here is the catch. Back in the day, say 1991 when I first got my reel of solder (yes, it does last a long time) it was made in Japan. I notice then and even up to a couple of months back when I gave away what little of the original spool I had to a friend, the solder was good and still flowed well. I bought a new spool of Asahi solder but I notice now that it tends to coat my soldering iron rather easily. Apparently because it is now made in Malaysia. And you need to beware too. There are fakes crowding the market and if you are not careful, you will buy them. So only buy the solder from authorised stores to avoid being taken in.

Categories: etcetera Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

