Home > etcetera > TP-Link m5360 3G router with built-in powerbank

TP-Link m5360 3G router with built-in powerbank


I bought this TP-Link m5360 router yesterday at Sim Lim Square. It cost me about $99. The first thing I did with it was to take it out, power it on and charge my mobile phone, which was down to about 20% in battery power. So that was the first thing it did for me. But what is this marvellous new toy I have all about? This is what it is.

The m5360 is a combination of a 3G Wi-Fi Hotspot and portable power bank. It comes equipped with a built-in 3G modem and I managed to get it up and running fairly quickly as a Wi-Fi hotspot by inserting my Starhub 3G SIM data card. This M5360 is able to provide 3G wireless sharing to up to 10 users simultaneously. The beauty about this thing is that it comes with a 5200mAh internal battery makes it a very ideal travel companion as well. Remember I wrote a post about cheap data cards in Vietnam? And furthermore, with its LED display, users can have a view of the device’s operating status, such as traffic statistics, Wi-Fi status, user numbers, network type (2G/3G), signal strength, Internet connection status, messages, battery meter and lots more.

I had a bit of an issue plugging my SIM card in. There is a tiny slot above the slot where the SIM card goes to so be very careful about that. I do not know why it exists there but apparently it does. I managed to take the SIM card out using a pair of tiny tweezers. But after I took it out, I managed to hook it up by sliding it into the right slot and it was a breeze after that. There is a slot for a SD card as well and this whole router can be used as an external thumb-drive should you decide to do so.

My old Huawei dongle is 7 years old this year and it is about time I retired it. It was having times when I just could not get a strong signal when using it. But this fantastic new device will see me going into a new era. Thanks TP-Link for this marvellous device!

Categories: etcetera Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. 15/09/2017 at 08:06

Leave a Reply

