Home > etcetera > Xiaomi Redmi 4A smartphone

Xiaomi Redmi 4A smartphone


Two days back, I bought this Xiaomi Redmi 4A for my aunt. She was using or rather is still using, as I type this, an old Nokia 2G phone. 2G services in Singapore are numbered. They are going to expire on the 1st of April 2017, which is only a couple of months away. So all have to upgrade to at least a 3G phone. And this is the phone I bought for her.

One thing I love about this phone is that it weighs only 131 grams. That is very light indeed. It is relatively inexpensive but it looks like a premium phone because  it has a smooth metal texture. It has a 64-bit processor, a Qualcomm Snapdragon 425 and comes with MIUI 8 OS. The OS takes some getting used to but since I already am used to it, it made navigating a lot easier.

It has 2Gb of RAM and 16Gb of memory. This phone can take two SIM cards but one of the SIM cards must be a nano SIM. It can take a memory card up to 256Gb in size but unfortunately, the second SIM card needs to be sacrificed for that. It is one of those “either or” phones….either the second SIM card or the SD-card but not both. Power-wise, it comes with a non-removable Li-Ion 3120 mAh battery. Doesn’t matter much to me nowadays to be honest.

So did I get what I paid for? I certainly did, and more. I mean, for my aunt, who is not tech-savvy in the least, this phone will help, after I set it to Lite Mode. This is something that Xiaomi excels in. Their lite mode is a boon for folks having their first phone. So all I have to do now is get her SIM card, install it in the phone and I am done.

Categories: etcetera Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

