Home > etcetera > New SSD drive for my Dell Inspiron N5050

New SSD drive for my Dell Inspiron N5050


About a week back, well slightly less than that in fact, I decided to change the hard drive on my Dell Inspiron laptop. This Dell Inspiron is getting old. It has been with me for a number of years and it has served its purpose very well. But the hard drive, which was a 320Gb Western Digital Blue, was starting to get slow. So I told myself…it is time I reloaded the operating system on this laptop as it has been about 4 years since it was re-loaded.

The first thing I did was to go to Sim Lim Tower to check out the prices of SSD drives. The results were not encouraging. The prices of SSD hard drives had ballooned. Remember I wrote a post about getting a SanDisk Plus SSD some time back? Well, that very same 240Gb hard drive that I bought for a steal for less than $100 now cost more than $100! And forget about the next step up, the SanDisk 480Gb drive that I saw was on sale for $179 some time back. It had now ballooned in price to $220! I really do not know what is causing the price to suddenly balloon. I suppose it could be something to do with demand out-stripping supply.

Anyhow, what I did was to get back home and then I remembered. Ever since I bought my MacBook Pro, my old Lenovo ThinkPad was not being used much. The reason it was not being used anymore is because the BIOS battery is shot and getting a replacement was not really something I wanted to get. So I told myself to use the old SSD hard drive that was in that Lenovo and load it into my old Dell.

Taking the Dell Inspiron apart was not that difficult, thanks in no small part to the various how-to videos on YouTube. After I switched the hard drives, I loaded Windows 7 Home Premium on it. That version of Windows came with my Dell laptop. After I installed the operating system, I installed the various drivers for it. I started to notice that the SSD was really causing my notebook to start and shutdown much, much quicker.

I must add that when I opened the casing, I decided to also change the BIOS battery with a new CR2032 lithium battery. That is when I faced an issue. The battery when it was removed from its receptacle, two tiny taps holding it in were broken. So what I did was to wedge in some bits of plastic and it worked a treat. Bloody Dell. I really hate booby traps like these!

So now this 5-year-old laptop has a new heart, a new 250Gb hard drive. I am very happy with it and my Dell Inspiron is more zippy now. It feels like I have been given a new laptop!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

