Archive

Archive for 03/03/2017

My Xiaomi Redmi 2 2G issue

03/03/2017 1 comment

I have had a Xiaomi Redmi 2 phone for the past year and I must admit that I love it. It took a bit of getting used to but once you dial it in, it is a really nice phone to use and very versatile. Plus, for the money I paid for it, I got a lot of bang for buck…or phone for buck in this instance. But I now face an issue and I have less than one month to fix it.

The issue is about the 2G services in Singapore, which will come to an end on the 1st of April 2017. How does this affect me you may ask. Well, my Xiaomi Redmi 2 phone has two SIM card slots. I use the 1st slot for my personal line and I use the 2nd slot for my business line. The issue about the Redmi 2 is that only one slot can be a 3G / 4G. You can choose either Slot 1 or Slot 2 on this phone. So supposing you choose Slot 1 to be the slot that utilises 3G / 4G, the second slot will be 2G. The reason is that there are only two antennas in the phone. One is for 3G and one is for 2G. So either one of those slots can be used for 3G at a time. And check this out…the date is looming closer!

So what do I have to do? Simple. get another phone for my business line or I may not be able to use it anymore as it is currently in Slot 2 of my Xiaomi Redmi 2, and slot two is the 2G slot. Oh well. maybe I will get the Redmi 4A that I got for my aunt. It is relatively cheap and it just works.

What a bummer.

Categories: etcetera Tags: , , , , ,