Home > etcetera > Ex-Mediacorp actress Jin Yinji treated like dirt by Mediacorp

Ex-Mediacorp actress Jin Yinji treated like dirt by Mediacorp


First of all, I would like to credit ScribbleLive.com for this photo that someone uploaded to their site. This, folks, is Jin Yinji, a veteran actress from Mediacorp. Now, I do not watch Chinese shows or even the Chinese channel but I know people like do, like my wife for instance. When I was growing up, I used to watch Chinese programs sometimes…not all the time, so I know who this actress is. I have been told on good account that she is a wonderful person, a great actress and dedicated to her work. I cannot give the same praise to Mediacorp, our local broadcasting station. Apparently, she was treated like dirt. According to The Straits Times:

Recalling her last year with her former employer Mediacorp, veteran actress Jin Yinji said she was shown no respect during contract talks but has since let it go.

In a farewell interview with Lianhe Zaobao, the 70-year-old said she had been in talks in January last year about extending her contract. Although she had three dramas on her plate, the artiste management not only wanted her to take a pay cut of two-thirds or more but also hurt her self-esteem, she said.

Jin, whose husband runs an antique shop, does not need the money, but she wanted to be respected. She was in tears as she recalled the talks, said Zaobao. “You can talk to me nicely,” she said. “You don’t have to say, ‘If I have to hire you to act, I might as well hire a $50-an-hour bit player.'”

Jin, who was with Mediacorp for 30 years, was voted one of the company’s Top 20 Most Popular Artistes more than once. She felt she could still do her job. Also, producers were using her, and she did not understand why she had to take a pay cut.

I do not understand why such words were uttered. Did you really have to say such words Mediacorp? You people are a bunch of bloody losers. Now with this happening, let us see if more people want to watch your stupid shows. I hope that those idiots at Mediacorp come to their senses about this gaffe, re-hire Jin Yinji and give here a new freaking contract!

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

