Home > etcetera > My experience with Windows 10 so far

My experience with Windows 10 so far


Well I got my wife a new Dell Inspiron 14 3462 laptop that was running on Windows 10 and I can honestly say that I prefer Windows 7 a whole lot better. I feel sad that Windows 7 will reach the end of its life in 2020. This is exactly the same feeling I had when Windows XP reached its untimely end-of-life, from what I feel.

Why do I feel that way about Windows 10? Well, for starters, it is clunky, takes ages to load and the updates just download pretty damn slow. I have upgraded the Internet connection in my house to a faster one and while it is faster with a lot of stuff, for Windows 10, downloading updates seems to take forever…and a day. And it is not only the uploads. When I swapped the disk for an SSD…an 80Gb SSD, that had no issues with Windows 7, I was in for a very rude shock. The SSD, after the install of Windows 10, was almost full up! That is why I feel that Windows 10 is full of bloatware, bloatware that I certainly do not need. Another thing is that Windows 7 ran fine on 4Gb of RAM. Windows 10, on the other hand, ran like a fly in molasses on 4Gb of RAM

But then again, if you want to make Windows your main operating system for your laptop, I am afraid that you have no other recourse, by the looks of it. It has to be Windows 10. So we either get used to it or switch to Linux.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

