Home > etcetera > New Starhub set-top box at my mum’s place

New Starhub set-top box at my mum’s place


I was surprised when I went over to my mum’s place a couple of days back. I found out that she had a nw Starhub set-top box. Apparently, my mum’s old one was not working so Starhub, in their indefinite wisdom, decided to send two of their incompetent technicians / engineers to my mum”s place to check what was the issue. They told my mum her set-top box was spoilt and told her that they will be giving her a new one.

And give her a new one they did. But here is the catch. The new one does NOT have a built-in hard drive. No. My mum has to BUY a new external hard drive, one that was specially prepared by a sub-contractor of theirs. And she had to cough up $99 to but that 1Tb Western Digital hard drive. Now. I am not against external hard drives. I use them and I find them very convenient and useful. BUT…and here is a big BUT. I draw the line at external hard drives being used in this fashion. All that is powering the drive and accessing the data on that drive, is a single USB cable. Now. Singapore is very humid….and you know what that kind of humidity does to external hard drives, and their respective cables. That drive also is at mercy to the whims and fancies of that set-top box. What happens when my mum switches off that set top box. Will the hard drive be unmounted properly? Will the hard drive still tun even though the set-top box is on standby? I asked Starhub that question but they were unable to answer the questions. But then again, I was expecting that.

Then came the connection behind my mum’s TV. My mum’s old connection was via a 5 x RCA component and L + R. connection. When they changed the set-top box, they had to get rid of the component cables that were connecting to my mum’s connection. Now all they had was a HDMI connection. I mentioned something about humidity in Singapore and how it fouls up connections behind things like TVs and VCRs. My mum’s TV has a problem with the HDMI input because it is oxidised. So now with the new box, the picture is bad. But did that bother Starhub? Nooooooo….

So I asked Starhub to give me an explanation via email. They said they would.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

