Archive

Archive for 24/04/2019

Canare L-4E6S Japanese-made mic cable

24/04/2019 Leave a comment

I have been using this Canare L-4E6S cable for years. Just like Canare said in their website, this is the premier Star Quad cable for all handheld microphone applications. Flexible and extra strong, this standard diameter, 21 AWG cable fits perfectly in all XLR-type audio connectors. Forty separate strands in each conductor eliminate breakage due to flexing.

I just happen to have some handy. I took these off an old building that was slated for demolition. I will make them into another set of mic cables. Love the braided shield!

In any case, I soldered them, using male Neutrik XLRs on one side and female Amphenol on the other side. The Amphenol connectors were left over from a previous project and I was meaning to use them when I had the chance. They are a lot harder to solder than the Neutrik counterparts but I managed to do it. If you want to see what I mean, check out the Youtube post below about the differences