Archive

Archive for 18/11/2019

Having to pay for new ICs mandated by Government

18/11/2019 Leave a comment

A few days back, there was news that from January next year, Singapore citizens and permanent residents (PR) will have to re-register for their National Registration Identity Card (NRIC) when they reach age 55, so that data such as photos can be updated. Re-registration is mandatory and failing to do so is an offence under the National Registration Act. Offenders can be fined up to S$5,000 or jailed up to five years or punished with both, if convicted. What I am pissed off about is having to pay $10 for this.

Hey fellas…I never wanted to have my identity card replaced. I just replaced it in 2006 when it got lost…and my photo is pretty up-to-date. Why should I have to pay $10 for it? You fellas should be waiving this cost!