Archive

Archive for 24/11/2019

Xiaomi Redmi 7A

24/11/2019 Leave a comment

I bought this Xiaomi Redmi 7A to replace the old Redmi 2 that died on me. I bought this for quite a good price and I like it very much. This new phone of mine has a Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ 439 processor. That is pretty snappy processor compared to the old Redmi 2A. But what I like about it the most is the large 4000mAh battery. Apparently, I read on the Xiaomi website that this huge battery can give the phone up to 19 days of standby. I do not know how true that is but if it can, it will be fantastic! Another improvement over the old Redmi 2A is the 12MP AI rear camera. AI of course stands for Artificial Intelligence. I do not know if the AI really exists or was just put there for show. But whatever it is, it does take some stunning photos. Also, this Redmi 7A comes with a 5.45” HD+ Full Screen Display. Believe me when I say it…the images on this phone look clean and crisp.

I have been putting this unit through its paces after I bought it some 4 days ago. I have not got the casing for it yet but I will when it becomes available. Apparently, this phone is still new so no cases for it exist yet. But it comes with a 10W charger for a big boost in charging speed apparently. I have yet to try this feature out as I am using my old chargers but it is definitely welcome. Another unique feature of this phone is that it comes with a dual nano-SIM and dedicated microSD card slot. That is good because I can now use two SIM cards without having to sacrifice one for a microSD card. Also, this phone supports up to 256GB of expandable storage so that is pretty good. And last but I do not mean least, this phone comes with improved splash resistance, protected by splash-proof nano-coating (whatever that is). Apparently, according to Xiaomi, water runs off of the phone like a leaf, effectively reducing corrosion from sweat, oils, beverages or other commonly splattered liquids. I am not saying that we should use the phone underwater, or in the poring rain…but some kind of splash resistance is great.

All in all, it is a great phone and I am very happy with it. Just got to get myself a case for it and I am done!

Categories: etcetera Tags: , ,