Archive

Archive for 08/05/2021

D-Link DGS-1005A 5-Port Gigabit Unmanaged Desktop Switch

08/05/2021 Leave a comment

dgs-1005_D-link

A couple of days back, while at a client’s place, I saw one of those electronic dumping areas. Someone had placed a bag full of network equipment that they were throwing away. In this bag, I found this D-Link DGS-1005A gigabit network switch. I tested it and it was working fine. I did a lookup online about the specs of this switch and this is what I found out about it.

Apparently, this switch conserves energy automatically through several methods. It automatically powers down ports that have no link, allowing the switch to save a substantial amount of power by cutting power usage for unused ports or ports connected to computers that have been shut down. That is not too bad, considering that we are all doing our part to conserve energy. Also, this switch also features QoS, which prioritizes network traffic so that time-sensitive data is delivered efficiently, even during bursts of high data traffic.

So did I get a steal? I certainly did. I have another D-Link switch that I bought sometime back and I love it for its portability. That switch is apparently the 10/100 megabit version of this series of D-Link switches.