Archive

Archive for 15/12/2011

Audio-Technica’s answer to the Technics SL-1200 MKII

15/12/2011 3 comments

I have been aware of this SL-1200 copy turntable for some time now. I have never tried it before but from what I have read on the Internet, it seems that it is pretty decent. Looks like a 100% carbon copy of the SL-1200 but it has some things that the SL-1200 does not have. First off, it has the ability to play 78-rpm records. Also, the connection on this model is a USB or universal serial bus connection which means that you can hook it up to a computer directly and play your vinyl. I am not privy to the cost of these things but I hear that it is almost half the price of the SL-1200. Well, since Technics are no longer making the SL-1200 MKII, I suppose that those that really need a MKII-esque turntable can look at this and get it.