Archive

Archive for 18/02/2021

Acer Aspire 5 A515-56-57XR notebook

18/02/2021 Leave a comment

A couple of days back, my wife and I went down to Courts to buy a new notebook. My wife will be starting a course very soon and her old Dell laptop just does not cut it anymore. The old Dell has a faulty wireless card and no battery. It is just totally screwed. So we went down to Courts and the laptop that caught my wife’s eye was this Acer Aspire 5 notebook.

The one thing I like about this laptop is its 15.6″ screen. One thing I do not like about it are the notebook hinges. I do not know how to describe it but it seems that when you open the notebook, the outer part of the hinge becomes something like wedge that props up the notebook. But that is about all there is. I like the 512Gb SSD drive this thing as, along with the 8Gb of RAM. I spent the best part of yesterday setting it up for her.  These are the specs of the notebook and you can find out more details here:

  • Latest 11th Gen Intel Core i5-1135G7 Processor
  • Windows 10 Home (64-bit)
  • Intel Iris Xe Graphics
  • 15.6” FHD IPS LED-backlit Narrow Bezel Display
  • 8GB RAM, 512GB PCIe NVMe SSD
  • Intel AX WLAN
  • 2 Years Carry-in Local Singapore Warranty
  • 2 x USB 3.2 Gen 1 ports with one featuring power-off USB charging
  • 1 x USB 2.0 port
  • 1 x HDMI® 2.0 port with HDCP support
  • 1 x 3.5 mm headphone/speaker jack, supporting headsets with built-in microphone
  • 1 x Ethernet (RJ-45) port
  • 1 x USB Type-C port: USB 3.2 Gen 1 (up to 5 Gbps)

Looks like I got to get this thing registered online for the warranty. I must admit…I am NOT a fan of Acer computers but since my wife likes this, well, I suppose I have to put up with it.

Categories: etcetera Tags: , ,