Archive

Archive for 24/02/2021

Old switch in office ceiling

24/02/2021 Leave a comment

I saw this image posted in one of the Facebook groups that I belong to. Now believe it or not, I have seen anomalies like these before. Network switches like this D-Link switch get installed in the most bizarre of places. In this case, it was installed in the ceiling by the looks of it. These switches just keep going and going and people will soon forget where they are, at least until something goes wrong. Then there will be a frenzied hunt to solve network connection issues, with people forgetting that there is a switch in the ceiling. It reminds me about something I read on the Internet years ago named Server 54: Where are you? Can you imagine that Netware server running all those years without a reboot? Boggles the mind eh? But then again, they do not make stuff like they used to…and that is a sad fact.