Home > etcetera > Over-priced drinks at Kopitiam outlets

Over-priced drinks at Kopitiam outlets


My wife and I were having lunch at a Kopitiam outlet fairly recently. We ordered our food and my wife went to buy some drinks, in this case, a Coke Light for each of us. When she went to the drink stall, the stall holder rudely said: “self-service!”. What they did was to display all the drinks in front, not chilled mind you, and hand it to the cashier, who will provide you with a cup of ice. Bloody rude buggers then charge us $1.70 per drink. So in effect, I am paying for a non-chilled can of Coke Light, with a cup of ice, for $1.70 when I can buy it outside, chilled, for a dollar or maybe even less!

That is what I am going to do from now on. Whenever I go to Kopitiam, I am going to bring my own drink. No outside food policy be damned. If I cannot get good prices for drinks and served by a surly proprietor, I would rather bring my own. And it is not to say that the food is any good at the Kopitiam either. The food is average at best but pricey. Next time, I am heading to a hawker centre, if I can help it

Categories: etcetera Tags: ,