Home > etcetera > $38 dollars to “update” a SIM card from 3G to 4G

$38 dollars to “update” a SIM card from 3G to 4G


M1_zps3a73b072

Yesterday was a real eye-opener for me. About 12 years back, I subscribed to a prepaid card for my wife. The telco was M1. My wife used it as a secondary phone for various things like Shopee buys and Grab. So as you know, Singapore is phasing out the 3G spectrum. That M1 SIM card is still on 3G. I went to an M1 shop and asked them if they can replace the card for me. They told me that it would cost $38. I asked them why. They said that it was the price of replacement. Well fuck that and I told them that in a slightly more polite way and left the shop.

SingTel, in spite of all the bad shit that happened to me when I was with them, would upgrade your card for free. And speaking of 3G, if I had the choice, I would have gladly carried on with it. It certainly was not my choice to go to 4G so I went to M1 out of necessity rather than a want to change to 4G. But to quote me a price of $38 when I wanted to stick with them? No thanks, you greedy bastards.

That being said, maybe it is better that I am NOT carrying on with M1, given the fact that they are the most unreliable telco in Singapore with their constant outages.

Categories: etcetera Tags: , , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment